How does an advertising company work in contact. Targeted VKontakte advertising, how to use it effectively and what it is best suited for. Cost of targeted advertising

Today, not only teenagers spend time on Vkontakte. With more customization options social network the number of adult solvent audience is also growing.

Each user is shown the most interesting ad for him. Setting up advertising for an audience that is most likely interested in your product and service is called targeting on Vkontakte.

What is "targeted advertising" Vkontakte

Not so long ago, two or three small advertising publications began to appear on the left side of the Contact page. They look like pictures with the title and a little description. If you study them more closely, you will notice that they often coincide with geographic location user, suit him by age, gender and interests.

When an ad is displayed, the choice of the audience is not random, but purposeful. For which user is more suitable for displaying a particular publication, the targeting setting is responsible. What it is?

"Target" in translation from English means "target". An advertising tool that allows you to choose from a large number of users the audience that most satisfies the advertiser. It works on the principle of screening out uninteresting customers and those who are unlikely to be interested in the product. Using targeting allows you to save your budget to a large extent, because fewer users see ads.


Targeting on Vkontakte differs from other types of advertising in the following ways.

  • The launch of an ad differs from and in its selectivity. Usually, for a hundred impressions of publications on a social network, there are much more responses than a demonstration of a media product to everyone in a row, including users who are not interested in it.
  • There are several differences from contextual advertising. Although the electoral nature is their common feature, these types of promotion of goods and sites function differently.

Firstly, the choice of Vkontakte users occurs according to a different scheme. Contextual ads make a binding to the user's last queries in the search engine. The corresponding publication is selected and sent to the required ID. Targeted advertising is displayed to users based on the information recorded on their page.

Secondly, the degree of readiness of the user to buy a product and order a service differs. That is, contextual advertising is shown to those who are already interested in the product. Vkontakte people come to communicate, so when you launch your ad, you need to understand that the user still needs to be captivated by the services offered.

Based on the foregoing, it must be concluded that targeting is not suitable for everyone.

It is advisable to advertise those products that a person buys spontaneously, without worrying that he will spend too much money. For this, pages that sell goods are created. Another strategy is to fuel the user's interest in Vkontakte groups. Both tools must be well-designed, taking into account all the rules of sales and customer acquisition.

How to set up and launch targeted advertising on Vkontakte?


On the left under the ad feed there is a section "Advertising", in which you need to select a tool for creating an ad.


Basic requirements prohibit:

  • errors in the text of the title and description, as well as obscene expressions;
  • use of specific ages and names;
  • headings for targeted advertising, consisting only of capital letters;
  • use of contact information;
  • links to other social networks;
  • alcohol promotion, tobacco products and goods for adults;
  • use of competitors' symbols;
  • imitation of the Contact interface.


To make an announcement in accordance with all the rules, follow the requirements:

  • selection of high quality images;
  • the text should not cover the picture by more than half;
  • the topic of the ad must match the page to which the transition is made;
  • for activities requiring a license, all permits must be available;
  • compliance with the site's privacy policy.

When the picture, title and description are ready, you need to set up the ad correctly. The use of a target will help create a truly working mechanism for promoting a product, website, and service. With the right approach, the ad will start working in the near future.


  • Geographically. Unlike contextual advertising, where IP is used to obtain information, Vkontakte geotargeting takes information about the user from his page. In order not to make a mistake in the addressee, the data is sent for additional verification.

The main informative bases of Vkontakte specialists are full list settlements and countries of the world, as well as a list higher institutions and departments.

The advantage of using Vkontakte geotargeting is that, by drawing information from the user's page, the system determines his most favorite and frequently visited places. Thus, if a person goes on a business trip, he will even see an announcement from there mall in own city.

Set up geo-targeting as specifically as possible, down to the street and the house. With the help of data from user pages, random people will not fall into the target audience.

  • Setting by demographic principle: gender, age of the audience. In addition, there is additional opportunity– showing ads before the user's birthday.
  • Targeting by VK groups. Searching for people by communities and interests is a great opportunity to advertise your product.

First, if it is a narrow category of goods, then it will be shown to a specific category of users. For example, when selling T-shirts of rock bands, it is advisable to choose the appropriate audience, other people are unlikely to be interested in products.


Special services help you quickly and efficiently find customers on the Vkontakte network.

Secondly, target Vkontakte is aimed so that ads are not shown to everyone, excluding unnecessary communities from the search. Thus, you will hide your ads from users of competitors. Or vice versa - to show your better and cheaper product only to them.

  • The social network allows you to search for an audience also by applications and sites where authorization took place through a social network. As in the case of groups, the ability to exclude uninteresting users is included.


  • Retargeting is setting up a tool for displaying ads to people who are already familiar with the product and who have visited the advertiser's website or page.

When all the settings are selected correctly, it remains to replenish the account and send the ad to the moderators for verification. When the ad is launched, analysis and tracking of reach statistics, impressions and number of clicks will become available. If the settings are not correct, you can change them at any time.

The cost of targeted advertising Vkontakte

Targeted has two payment options: for the number of clicks and for the number of impressions.

The pricing method is set during the ad creation process and cannot be changed later.


Like many others, the auction system does not work, that is, the more money an advertiser is willing to pay for showing his ad, the higher his chances of being shown.

If the target of several advertisers is aimed at one user, the order in which the publication is displayed on his page will depend on the declared price. The more expensive ads are shown first. With the option of paying only for clicks, not only set price, but also (the popularity of the ad, calculated as the ratio of clicks to impressions).

When choosing targeting settings, the system analyzes the entered data and offers a recommended cost. Vkontakte compares similar ads and the number of users covered and forms a price range. Of course, for greater efficiency, it is better to choose a higher cost.


The average price for 1,000 impressions on Vkontakte is 6-10 rubles. Since the number of the audience covered by the target is also shown, it is not recommended to select less than 20,000 people, since the ad will spin on the same pages.

Another nuance - when setting impressions, select the item - no more than a hundred impressions per one. These rules will help your ad to move much faster.

Usually the price for clicks is several times higher than for impressions. It is not recommended to set the price for 1 click less than a ruble, but you should not overestimate the cost too much. It is advisable to use such a payment system with a large audience coverage (if it exceeds a million, then it is better to pay only to those who are interested in the ad), to test your hypotheses, or when you need to quickly promote the product.

The right choice of settings, payment method and analysis of the dynamics of user activity will help to promote almost any product on the social network.


Proper use of targeting is the key to stable income and popularity among customers.

Targeted advertising is a really working tool. With it, you can select potential customers with greater accuracy than in the case of contextual advertising. There is also a chance to attract an audience of competitors or exclude aggressive users from the list of impressions.

The wide possibilities of Vkontakte allow you to competently approach the choice of settings and attract the necessary users. Do not forget about the quality of the advertised product or site, because no matter how effective the ad is, sales can only be increased if the product offered is competitive.

Not really

Where is VK advertising placed.

To see what different ad formats look like, just open your page.

  • Teasers.

On the left on the pages of users there are teaser VK targeting blocks, three in one display

  • Blocks in the news feed.

In the feed, your post is diluted with news posts by users in the ratio of 1/25, and does not differ from them in any way, except for the note that this is what it is advertising entry. Such posts consist of text of any length and, if desired, pictures.


  • VK groups.

In VKontakte communities, you can buy advertising space and place posts of various formats - both text with pictures and video clips. Here the message is also marked with a footnote and this is the only way it can be distinguished from the records of the members or the administration of the group. Here's what it looks like in the group feed

  • How targeted advertising works on VKontakte.

I won’t describe how to set up a campaign with targeting in VK, you can see it in the article on the site, now we’ll analyze appearance ads, and how they are promoted.

Blocks of targeted advertising on VKontakte can be created with either a small or a large picture (its dimensions are visible in the screenshot). In the first case, a title of 33 characters and a description of 70 characters are written under the image, in the second, only the title.


Moderators carefully monitor the spelling, the presence of extra exclamation marks and the information content of the texts, and often return the ad for revision. So be careful.

How is the campaign being rolled out?

When setting up payment for 1000 impressions, a limit is set for showing an ad unit to 1 user, the minimum number is 100. That is, one person will not see it more than 100 times.

This is important, because the click-through rate (CTR) depends on the ratio of clicks to impressions and the success of the compiled teaser block is evaluated, and if some ad is constantly spinning for one user, this indicator will be small and not correspond to the true situation.

Payment for impressions is set up when the target audience narrowed down with targeting filters and doesn't have a very large reach. If you don’t present a portrait of the target audience for your offer, don’t know how to segment it and reach a large one, it makes sense to set up pay per clicks.

In the first case, amounts will be debited from your account as impressions are made based on the bid you set, in the second case, as clicks are made, and also based on the set bid.

VK ads in the block on the left are regularly rotated, that is, yours will not be displayed constantly, but in turn.

  • Advertising in the news feed.

Here, the ads look like any other message, this is the so-called. Initially, this format involves the promotion of posts from your community, but you can make a new post directly from the advertising account, but on behalf of the group administrator.

The difference is that you can write text without limiting characters, insert pictures and videos. How to set up such a campaign, see the article on the site.

Your post moves down the feed as new entries are added and will hang there for a long time, but hardly anyone will look for it at the bottom, so choose the most visited time for your target audience to post them.

In groups and publics, there are no restrictions on the format of an advertising post, if it has not been set by the administrator, which you can find out from him.

You also agree on the time of placement and learn about the rules of promotion. Usually it looks like this: after publication, the post is at the very top of the community news for one hour, and then creeps down during the day as new posts appear or other similar offers are posted. After a day, the message is removed from the feed.

But this is not a rule, in some groups administrators arrange a different display schedule, and sometimes a post generally remains in the feed for an indefinite time.

Social networks have become an integral part of the lives of many people. Here people meet, communicate or just have fun. Businessmen use the social network VKontakte to sell goods or services. But it has its own rules, you need to be able to promote your business. For this, contextual advertising in VK is used, with its help you can achieve results faster..

In today's article, we will tell you about contextual advertising, describe how it works, and much more.

Context VKontakte and its features

Contextual advertising on VKontakte is somewhat different from the usual context in the same Yandex.Direct or Google Adwords. In VK, the audience for ad impressions does not depend on the queries entered by the user. This site relies on the data that users indicate in their profiles.

At search engines There is one drawback - we do not know exactly who will see our ad. We only know what request a person will enter. But whether it will be a woman or a man, what age, what interests - we cannot know all this. And it is VKontakte that gives us such an opportunity.


Advertising VKontakte: contextual or targeted. What is a VK target?

For example, you have your own online clothing store for kids. You set up the context in Yandex.Direct.

All you can do is specify the queries that your potential customers enter.

VKontakte, on the other hand, will allow you to indicate gender and age (a potential client is young mothers), a city, which communities they may be in, what interests and many other factors.

Thus, you will be able aim as accurately as possible at your target audience. Sometimes you can even resort to the tactic of "poaching" your competitors' customers by listing their communities.

What else can please the site VK.com?

Here you can choose whether to pay for ads for impressions or for clicks.

As for the prices, they are quite reasonable here. Pull everything!

With high-quality settings and creating interesting ads, you can achieve a high CTR and high conversions at low monetary costs (lower than in the same Direct or AdWords). But, like on any other sites, in some niches the price per click can be very high, but VKontakte gives you the opportunity to specify your price. And even if you specify a cost lower than that indicated by your competitors, your ad will still be shown, albeit to a smaller number of people.

That is why, having become popular, social. the VK network began to place ads on its pages.

Sponsored posts in the news feed are often perceived by people as regular posts. They click on them, read them, not suspecting that they are advertisements. Unless they paid attention to a special mark "advertising" or a record of a clearly advertising nature.

How does contextual advertising work in VK?



There are two types of context in VKontakte:

  • Advertising post in the news feed;
  • Advertisement on the side (on the left side of the site).

Each of these types has its own characteristics. But they share a common principle of operation.

In both cases, we need to first determine our target audience, create a high-quality ad/post (choose text, attachment) that can interest a person, and fine-tune targeting parameters.

There are 5 types of parameters in total:

  • Geography;
  • Demography;
  • Interests;
  • Education and work;
  • Extra options.

Each of the points has its own sub-points, by filling in which you will narrow the circle of people to whom your advertisement will be shown.

As with any other platform, there is no universal strategy that would suit all advertisers. Everywhere you need to conduct testing, identify the most successful and cut off the non-working ones.

How to set up contextual advertising in VK?



Setting is one of critical aspects in working with contextual advertising in VK. How you set up your targeting options determines the performance of your ads. Of course, the content itself that you show people also plays an equally important role. The final result depends on how well the ad / post is designed, the images, text, calls to action, etc. are selected.

We talked in more detail about how to properly set up advertising on VKontakte in this article. Be sure to review this information.

How to evaluate the effectiveness of contextual advertising in VK?

Analytics and work with statistics affect the further success of your advertising campaigns. Here it is very important to make competent and correct decisions based on the data received. Your continued success depends on this.


After all, we all want not just to constantly get the same result from month to month, but to grow. Grow in the number of clicks, grow in conversions, grow in the overall effectiveness of advertising campaigns. For all this, you need to work with statistics.

To view detailed statistics of contextual advertising in VK, you need to go to your personal advertising cabinet. In the "Advertising campaigns" tab, select the desired campaign.

Here we see the full list of our ads. Each of them can be edited, started/stopped, adjust the bid, set the total and daily limits, see how many impressions and clicks were made, CTR, eCPC.


In the "Statistics period" drop-down menu, you can choose for what period of time to display statistics: for today, for yesterday, for a month, or for all time.

Below the list of your ads, there are graphs that more clearly show the overall picture of the campaign / cabinet. Here you can see and compare ads or campaigns by four criteria: clicks, impressions, CTR, spent funds.


At the campaign or individual ad level, you can see detailed statistics on demographics and geography. You will find out who most often clicks on your ads, and in which cities they live.


Also, if you wish, you can export all this data to a separate Excel file.

Pros and cons


Like any method of promotion on the network, contextual advertising on VKontakte has its advantages and disadvantages. Let's talk about them.

  • A large number of targeting options, which allows you to show ads to a very narrow circle of people;
  • If you set the targeting very precisely, you can cut off a huge number of inappropriate impressions, which saves money;
  • You can target competitors and show ads to their customers;
  • Even a beginner can figure it out, since everything is done easily and simply, and tips pop up at every step;
  • High testing and response speed;
  • Possibility of visual design of ads (pictures with text).
  • The presence of restrictions on the display of certain goods / services prohibited by the social network itself. network;
  • Does not work with user requests;
  • With poor-quality tuning, low efficiency and high costs;
  • The need to constantly come up with something new and interesting, since people came here for communication and entertainment, and not for buying goods.

Outcome

Today we talked with you about the context in VKontakte. Now you know what it is and what it is eaten with. It is important to understand that advertising in VK is not one or two processes, it is a set of activities, starting with the definition of the target audience and strategies, and ending with the analytics of the results and making the right decisions.

A few years ago, we did not even suspect how firmly social networks would enter our lives. They have ceased to be just a "chatterbox" for teenagers. More often famous companies, owners big businesses, online stores and just private entrepreneurs create pages and communities on the network to promote their products and services.

To attract subscribers there - potential customers - there are various tools. We will talk about one of these methods in this article.

Targeted advertising "VKontakte": general information

What's this? What is it for? Maybe it's just a waste of money?

For a long time there was an opinion that VKontakte was a network for schoolchildren. But recent research has shown that the situation is changing. Now in the popular Russian social network there is a large number of solvent audience ready to learn about different goods and services and make purchases. These people should be helped to obtain such information. But since the main thing is still rest and entertainment, the offer should not be too intrusive. What does targeted advertising on VKontakte successfully do? What it is?

If we talk about the external component, these are small ads located on the left side of your page on the social network. Surely everyone paid attention to them, but not everyone knows how they appear and why.

The ad includes a title, image, and short description. As a rule, no more than two or three pieces will be visible at the same time. To view others, you need to click on the "All ads" button. Ideally, each of them should correspond to the interests of the person on whose VKontakte page it is located. After all, these ads are customized specifically for each user.

But practice sometimes deviates from the ideal, because the human factor intervenes.

Targeted advertising on VKontakte requires a very careful approach. Tips for its preparation and launch will not be superfluous.

If you do not stick to them, you can easily "drain" the entire planned budget and not achieve any results.

Not every product or service sells well with targeting. If these are some rare items, seasonal, not for everyone, or too expensive, it is better to look for other methods of promoting them. Everything related to medicine is sold poorly. Only consumer goods are suitable for targeting.

Before launching an advertisement, prepare and place an advertising post in your group, on the site or on the platform where the user will go or joined a group, and ideally - made an order.

The ad itself also requires a careful approach. Quality photography or graphic image, clear and bright. The goal is to get attention. Play on people's emotions. The text is short and concise. It must accurately hit the target, be written in the language of the target audience (target audience) on which the bet is made. Familiarity and rudeness are unacceptable. No appeals to "you"! You can not pass moderation.

Before a full-fledged display, you should first test the ad, laying no more than 100 rubles in expenses. It is best to make several ads on the same topic, but with different pictures, headings and explanations. And from them already in the course of the test to choose the best option.

Setting up targeted advertising "VKontakte"

Let's analyze the detailed algorithm of work.

Preliminary stage - analysis and pages of users are viewed, their search terms interests are revealed. Based on the data obtained, a portrait of the target audience is compiled, with which you will have to work during the advertising campaign.

There are several ways to get started:

2. If there is a community (group), you can act through it. That will make it faster. Under the avatar there is a line "advertise the community".

With the first option, you will have to make two transitions before you start creating an ad. And the second one leads directly to where the targeted VKontakte ad is placed. How to set up further work, the network itself will tell you.

First, we load a pre-prepared ad (text + image). They should be of a certain size, both in terms of the number of words and the length/width of the image.

Then we proceed to the settings for various parameters of our target audience: age, gender, place of residence, interests, marital status, and so on. There can be quite a lot of such indicators. Which one to take depends on the specific situation. Below is an example of targeting.

After filling in all the fields and creating the first ad, a personal advertising account will appear, where you can track how the advertising campaign is going.

Payment Methods

Another option for targeting.

Setting up targeted advertising on VKontakte involves two per impressions and per clicks. It is best to do the first option first, and later switch to the second. most often used when reaching a very large audience. For transitions - cheaper and easier.

Basic concepts and terms of targeting

Reach is the number of people who saw your ad at least once.

Transition is measured in numbers. How many times the offer was passed. The user who made the transition will not be shown the ad a second time.

Impressions - how many times your ad was shown on VKontakte.

CPC (cost per click) - an indicator of the cost of one click.

CPM - (cost per mille) - price per 1000 impressions.

CTR (click-through rate) - this concept shows the effectiveness of an ad and is calculated as the number of views per the number of clicks multiplied by 100%.

Examples

The more detailed you fill in all the columns, the more effective the targeted advertising on VKontakte will work. We will consider cases (real examples) right now.

An online store of goods for children decided to conduct an advertising campaign. The target audience was defined - women aged 20-30, married, have children. Delivery of goods from this store was carried out only in the city of X. All these parameters were entered. Payment method - for transitions. The recommended price is four rubles. Audience coverage - 10,000 people.

If the store worked with delivery throughout Russia, the numbers would be different. And in the settings all cities would be indicated, which would definitely increase the coverage area.

Group (community) or site: where should the transition from the ad lead

Targeted advertising "VKontakte" (guidelines for the use of which were given above) and the practice of its use show that with a fairly low price and a certain type of product (service), it is better to send the client to a well-designed one-page. Where can he place an order?

With a large assortment, for example, online stores, the transition should lead to a group. In this case, the goal is not just a one-time purchase, but long-term cooperation and constant sales. This applies to various pizzerias, fitness clubs, the sale and delivery of flowers, and much more.

New opportunities

Recently, an interesting addition has appeared - retargeting, which expands the initial possibilities of advertising products.

It allows you to show ads to people you already know.

Benefits of targeting

Allows you to very accurately define and point to the portrait of the target audience. Many netizens like to talk about themselves, give detailed information about hobbies, place of residence, age, and so on. Thus, it will not be difficult to find “their own” among millions of subscribers according to the necessary criteria and offer exactly those goods and services that will be of interest to them.

The accuracy of the choice of the target audience allows you to achieve a situation where the ad and the offer itself finds the client, and not vice versa.

Conclusion

Thus, if you want to increase sales, talk about a new product or service, targeted advertising on VKontakte will help. Feedback from many business owners speaks of the effectiveness of this kind of promotion. But only with a well-configured and conducted campaign.

Hello! If you decide to set up targeted advertising on Vkontakte, then a lot of questions immediately arise. How much money do you need to start advertising campaign? Which settings should be selected and which should be ignored, given my individual project? How to choose images? Which image format is best? What is CTR and what is CPM, what is the difference and what to choose? What is retargeting and how to use it? In order to save you from unnecessary fuss, we will consider all these issues and not only in this article.

Skeptics will say: “I tried! Targeted ads don't work! I spent a lot of money." Dear comrades, the violin will not play in the hands of a hippopotamus! Tried - it did not work, does not mean at all that it does not work. So somewhere they made a mistake. Thousands of companies on Vkontakte use this tool and get clients every day. It just takes a little patience and skill.

In the meantime, here's this infographic:

I also want to warn people who are just trying online advertising. First of all, I recommend this advertising channel like, you should first work in that direction. Targeted advertising is more “long traffic” and in some niches it can still compete with contextual advertising in the speed of converting a visitor into a buyer. But in most cases, it is better to start with contextual advertising, and only then connect targeted advertising. And using a bunch of contextual advertising + Vkontakte targeting will help to significantly increase efficiency. I will talk about this in the next article, because now it will be difficult to tell you about all the subtleties, but I will give you some guidelines. So, let's begin.

To make it easier to navigate, we conditionally divide the whole process into 2 stages. Namely:

  1. Training: basic terms, preparation for testing ads, creating an advertising account.
  2. Customization: let's go through the main targeting settings, by formats advertisement, compiling a test of pictures and headlines, and also choose strategies for impressions or clicks.

Preparation and terms

Some theory and numbers:

CTR is the ratio of clicks to impressions, measured as a percentage. For example, from 1000 impressions, you received 20 clicks. 20/1000*100 = 2%. This indicator is important to consider when choosing a display ad format. When advertising per click, it is not so important, because. it does not affect CPC.

CPC - cost per transition. It is important to always take into account, otherwise you can go into the red.

We create an advertising account

Open the menu on the left "Settings" and at the bottom we look for the link "Advertising".

Click on the "Targeted Ad" button. "Create Ad". The first step is to create an ad, not an account. I suggest just creating an ad now, without setting any settings, just so that you have an ad account.


cooking pictures

You can choose two options. The first is to look for pictures yourself on all the resources available to you (from photobanks to a banal image search in a search engine), and then prepare pictures in Photoshop. Or you can use this mega convenient service, for starters it will be enough free version. I will not dwell on the service now, if you wish, you will understand it, it is intuitive.

Testing images and headings

To set up a campaign more effectively, it is important to test images and headlines. For the test, we need to prepare. The test goes as follows.

  • Choose at least 5 pictures. We test five pictures with the same title.
  • And come up with at least 5 headings. We test five headings with the same picture.
  • After you test which images and headings were the most clickable, we combine the most clickable heading and the most clickable image. This way we get the most effective ad.

Ideally, you need to test at least 15 pictures and 15 headlines. But for understanding for the first time, five is enough.

Setting

To date, there are 5 options for advertising format for the site and group.

  • image and text. They are used mainly when you need to clearly explain what it is about right in the ad;
  • big image. This format is good because it attracts attention much better than the previous one. But there is a significant disadvantage - the character limit is only 25. You can also write text on the image, which significantly expands the possibilities of this option;
  • Exclusive format. In this case, your ad will be broadcast to the user in a single copy, without competitors. The downside is that it is twice as expensive;
  • Community promotion. This format is only suitable for communities, you cannot advertise the site using it. The key difference is that the user will be able to join your community without clicking on the link. Right in the ad there will be a "Join" button;
  • And finally a special format! If your target audience is over 100 thousand, I recommend trying it! It is broadcast not in the left column, like other formats, but in the user's news feed, which significantly increases the CTR. This option also only works for communities.

Choose an ad topic

You can basically skip this step, but it is useful to choose a topic and subsection. When the subject and subsection are set, moderation is faster.

Choosing the geography of our target audience

In this block, you can select the cities you want to advertise in, districts, metro stations and even the streets of your city. This is necessary if you have a local business, such as a cafe. In this case, you need to tune in to a narrow circle of people who do not need to travel halfway through the city to you. Here you can also cut off irrelevant ads. For example, you sell some rare product, having previously purchased it in China. In this case, it will be very useful to cut off large cities, because. they have a very good choice, and they may well buy the same product with delivery in their city, and often cheaper. To do this, you need to select in the "exclude" column the cities that you want to exclude from your advertising campaign.

Setting up demographics

With gender and age, everything is clear. But there are very interesting settings in this block, such as a birthday. We can tick the birthday box. And write in the ad, for example: "In honor of the birthday, a 10% discount." Such ads increase click-through rate, because. we personalize them. By choosing your marital status, you can also improve the relevance of your AC. For example, it makes no sense to advertise a dating site for family people. Well, at least often)

Interests

Well, we finally got there :) In my opinion, this is the most important and useful block in traditional targeting. So let's talk about it in as much detail as possible. So let's go.

Interest categories

The Vkontakte algorithm constantly counts the involvement of each specific user in certain categories of posts. For example, if a person constantly likes, comments, views a specific topic, for example, goods and services. With this setting, we will be able to target our ads for this segment of users! It's good right? :)

Communities

We can tune in to an audience segment that is in our competitor groups! That is, in fact, take away customers from competitors. Well, that's not all! A person who is a member of communities of interest can also be our potential client (for example, people who are members of business communities are potential clients for the sphere of b2b services). But here you need to carefully select the communities that you tune in to.

App and website targeting

By targeting specific applications, you can also achieve good results in certain cases. For example, by advertising a toy, you can target people who already play similar games.

Exception

You can, for example, exclude people who are already your subscribers.

outlook

I do not use this block, because there was no need. Perhaps it will be useful for you.

Travelers

If you check this box, then ads will be broadcast to people who tag their photos in different places. Which increases the chances of finding a more solvent audience.

The next block "Education and work"

By tuning in to professions, you can also additionally tune in to an audience that will be interested in your product or service. For example, people who studied for a high-paying specialty in one of the elite universities are much more likely to have a high income than elementary school teachers. The same applies to people holding a certain position or working in a certain company.

Extra options

  • Retargeting groups. This setting is worthy of a separate article. In short, you can collect a separate user base to which your ad will be broadcast. This can be done either with the help of certain software, or by first installing the retargeting code on your site.
  • With the exception of. We can also exclude people we don't want to show our ads to. For example, to people who are already subscribed to our community.
  • Devices. If we choose owners of Apple equipment or owners of smartphones here, then we can even more accurately tune in to a solvent audience.

I usually ignore the rest of the settings in this block, simply because I have not yet come across such advertising campaigns.

Setting price and location

For impressions or for transitions?

We need to choose a price for impressions and for clicks. At competent setting ads for impressions are often more effective than ads for clicks. But there are exceptions, for example, if your audience is above 500 thousand, it makes sense to test ads for clicks. I recommend choosing advertising platforms only on Vkontakte.

Transfer cost.

The main mistake of beginners is that they leave the price offered by Vkontakte. That is why many consider Vkontakte advertising unreasonably expensive. In fact, you need to be guided by a simple formula: divide the proposed amount (transition or per 1000 impressions) by about 10 or so. That is, if Vkontakte recommends a price of 12 rubles for 1000 impressions, you can set 1.2 rubles. and if the impressions will be unscrewed normally (at least 1 impression per second), then we leave it as it is. If not, we set the price a little higher, and so on until the impressions turn off normally.

Click "Create ad", and then run the ad for moderation.

Sincerely, Vladimir Kondratenko